Morning oatmeal done like porridge

A normal breakfast around the house consists of oatmeal of some form.  I like the steel-cut oats, but I don’t always have those around.  The recipe on the back of those cans calls for making more of a porridge out of the oats.  I have started to do the same with rolled oats.  While the flavor is different with rolled oats, the result is favorable.  Here’s what I do:

  1. Pour 4 cups of water into a pot significantly bigger than what you think you need.  Boiling can cause a good amount of rising.
  2. Bring the water to a boil.
  3. Add 1 cup of oats.
  4. Keep boiling the oats.
  5. Boil them some more.
  6. You’ll know when to turn to low when the mixture looks cloudy and has risen a bit.  It will take on the first signs of thickening, though not much.  I find this to be about 4-5 minutes.
  7. Turn to low and wait 30 minutes.  Stir a couple of times throughout.  Adding in 2 pads of butter and 2 tsp. of muscovado sugar works great.
  8. serves 2, add cinnamon and nutmeg to taste.  Serve with milk if desired.

About Steve @ FPO
Hello FPO readers, I have been writing on financial topics for about 12 years now, but I have only recently reignited the fire of publishing online. I have to say, its good to be back. I am an electrical engineer by trade who enjoys all topics engineering and financial. I started Financial Place Online (FPO) to create a value added financial news and education website that would provide a refreshing daily financial read. Financial Place Online websites are built around the principles of consumer empowerment, leveling the playing field, zero spam tolerance, and none of those annoying sidebar or banner ads. For us, it's all about enjoying a good read.

One Response to Morning oatmeal done like porridge

  1. Pingback: New Recipes! « My Mom Thoughts

Leave a comment

Blockchain and robotic automated systems

Evolution in Investment world

Carlisle Mitchell - Real Estate

Carlisle Mitchell - Insider Tips for Real Estate Investors. Expert investment & market analysis for real estate investors world-wide.

Finance Gateway

Finance Plan Makes Your Future

politicsandreason

Discuss politics with civility and reason

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

My Mom Thoughts

Thoughts and Recipes by Marie